Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-03-05 - 12:04 a.m.

Waiting...waiting...still waiting....pretty much how life works in the army.

Right now it looks like I'll be moving to Kuwait on either the 8th or the 12th, but just like everything else in the army this is subject to change at any moment.

There has been good news from the homefront. I've finally gotten in touch with my rhythm guitarist, Turtle. Apparantly he's gotten quite a bit done for Paying Tuition on his end since he got back to the states. He's been playing solo gigs, making some contacts at bars so we have more places to play at once Derr and I get back home. Also, there is a newspaper story being done on our band in Denver and he's found us a producer for when we start recording once everyone is back.

Between everything Turtle's been doing back home and everything I've managed to accomplish for promotion online, it'll be really interesting to see how quickly things take off again once I get back. The Paying Tuition website is up to 250 hits, not really a huge number, but considering that the site was created from Iraq and doesn't have shit on it yet that's not too bad. I've also gotten quite a few emails from different bands and people around Colorado who have either heard of us from the gigs we played before deploying or from seeing Turtle play solo, and people seem pretty interested in our sound. So, we'll see how things go. Should be fun.

Patrols will stop in a few more days here. Before they were supposed to stop on March 1st, but typically of the army that date was changed. At least we've been doing easy missions though, just pulling OP's (observation posts- pretty much an ambush site) every night. We haven't done any raids or anything like that for about 2 weeks.

As nice as it may be to have a break from doing serious combat missions, I have to admit that I miss it. A big part of me wants to go back to Samarra right now. I'm not really sure if that's a normal thing or not, but fuck...I guess I've just gotten used to life here. Going back to the states- as nice of a thought as that is- kinda feels like a depressing thought.

There's really no good way to explain it I guess....so I'm not gonna try.

Anyway, I actually made a bit of a breakthrough today. Began writing words again for the first time in a long time. I've been writing nothing but music for quite a while, but it seems like the words may have come back to me as well. I'm really not too happy with my recent poetry/lyrics, but considering how long it's been since i've written anything I suppose it'll have to do until I'm back up to speed with where I used to be. Anyone who wants to check them out, just go to poetry.com and do a search for Eric Eliason, you'll come up with a bunch of them.

Big floppy donkey dick.

Got some more work to do on the Paying Tuition site, so i'm gonna go get that done before I run outta time on the computer. Just a few more days to survive and we're outta here. kickass.

Later.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!