Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-03-14 - 2:00 a.m.

So....I have officially survived a year in iraq. We crossed the border and have been in Kuwait for about 3 days.

And I'd give fucking anything to go back.

I'm not quite sure if it's a normal thing or not, but being here is driving me fucking insane. I'm surrounded by people who have spent their entire deployment down here in kuwait, sending letters home bitching about how terrible the lines at subway and burger king are and how they can't have booze here. Fucking assholes.

Nobody here has any clue what it's like to be surrounded by people who want to kill you. They don't know what it feels like to have bullets and RPG's flying your way. They've never slept in dirt and mud with scorpions and spiders crawling on them all night. They've never cleaned up the blood of their friends after they got hit in an ambush.

And every single one of them thinks that they've been to war.

I really wish I hadn't mailed that guitar home. I could certainly use some type of release right now.

Fuck, I desperately want to go back to Samarra. Granted, it's no fun being shot at, but at least there I felt like I was in the right place. You don't know what you've got till it's gone, I suppose.

Anyway, we should be stateside sometime soon. Somefuckingtime. Goddamn, the amount of organization in the military never ceases to amaze me. We never know what we're doing until we're in the process of doing it. Dates never stay the same. God only knows when we're actually flying outta here.

One day at a time.

It's the only way to take it over here.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!