Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-05-12 - 2:48 p.m.

With some of the things going on in the news right now, I'm quite glad that I haven't bothered to buy a TV since returning home from Iraq.

And to the many civilians who think that things are getting worse there, they're really not...

The Iraqi's are not any better equipped, better trained, or braver than they were 6 months ago.

WE are the ones fucking up. For reasons unknown to me, once my unit left Iraq the military decided to take the mechanized units in the country and move them to the calm areas in Iraq where attacks are few and far between.

Mechanized units move in heavily armored vehicles which are very manueverable and quite well armed, and they are not being used to the Americans' advantage.

Instead, in areas like Fallujah we have Marines in canvas covered Humvees with little to no armor or heavy weaponry.

The military is playing the "hearts and minds" game, which obviosly doesn't work and is getting people killed.

Hopefully we'll pull our heads out of our asses, but from my experience in the military I don't find that very likely. And so the body count rises......

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!