Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-09-21 - 8:35 p.m.

I'm beginning to wonder why I ever check up on the news. I don't do it very often to begin with, but it seems every time I go to CNN.com there's another beheading. I'll never understand what these people are trying to prove. They can and probably will continue to abduct and behead innocent people, but the US will not pull out of Iraq anytime soon, if ever. Nor will we release prisoners due to terrorist demands. You'd think they would have learned this by now.....then again, with countries like Spain and the Phillipines freely giving in to terrorist demands, I suppose it's to be expected that they're going to keep trying.

While I'm not very fond of the leadership in our government or military right now, I must admit that I'm 100% behind them on this one. Granted, not negotiating with captors might seem like we're just leaving innocent people hanging, but if the United States caves to these people then they win the war. That simple. Yeah, we'd save one or two lives here and there, but how many would we endanger by showing the world that terrorists have control over us?

I'm sure if the any of the families of people who have been captured and killed read this they would be pretty angry, and that's understandable. But, unfortunately in cases like this there's more to think about than the family and the lives of those few people.

Where would the world be right now if organizations like Al-Qaeda knew that the US and other world powers were willing to negotiate with them? Quite an interesting question. It's not something I'd really like to imagine.

Anyway, I heard something quite interesting today. Right now I'm in the process of ACAP, a program the military uses to help soldiers transition from military to civilian life. They help with resume building, networking, applications, ect. During the classes today I was hanging out with some Special Forces guys, and the topic of Monster.com came up. According to them that website is religiously read by various terrorist organizations. They keep databases of names and addresses they find from looking at resumes of people who are in or have served in the US military. Normally I'd laugh at such a notion, but in my experience special forces recieve some pretty good intelligence, usually very reliable. Still, seems far fetched to me though......

So.....yesh.....ACAP (army career assistance program). The hunt for a job outside of the military has begun. I'll be officially out in March '05, and I've got several leads on companies to work for. Mostly government jobs, but a few civilian ones as well which pay considerably more than the not-so-amusing joke that the Army calls a salary. So, we shall see.....

On a much more interesting note I have decided to carry a shovel and sledge hammer around with me at all times so that should a slightly disgruntled snail ever feel the urge to do bodily harm to me I will be more than sufficiently equipped enough to defend myself from serious bodily injury........yesh

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!