Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-06-15 - 1:01 a.m.

Two entries in one day....a rarity for me, and only a few minutes apart no less. However, I feel quite stongly about this one.
First off, I absolutely despise the ACLU. They're one of the most dangerous organizations in the world when it comes to our national security, and much of what they do is in my opinion outright treason.
However, that said, every once in a while they hit the nail on the head.
I may be a bit late with this, but I just recently read about the proposed Constitutional Amendment in Congress to ban desecration of the American flag. For those interested, details can be found on www.aclu.org, or you can do a search on any popular search engine and find a slew of websites describing the bill.
I have one thing to say about this....HOW FUCKING DARE THEY??!?!
I don't give a flying fuck if you're a liberal, conservative, or anywhere in between, NONE of you have the right to propose or support any such law. This is NOT what I served in combat to defend. Granted, nothing pisses me off more than seeing some hippie fuck burn the flag to protest the Patriot Act or "violations" of the Geneva Convention that he's never read, but guess what? HE HAS EVERY RIGHT TO DO IT!!!
Should this bill pass, and the Army decides to call me back to active duty when Iran starts launching the nukes, I will go to prison before I serve in the military again. I did not watch 2 of my colleagues die and countless others get wounded just so the freedom of speec in this country can be taken away. Every day I live with the burden of knowing that men with lives and families are dead at my hand, which I can deal with knowing that I did these things to support the strongest country in the world. But I WILL NOT pull the trigger again should the rights that I fought for be destroyed in such a manner.
Burning the Constitution to prevent people from burning the flag is not acceptable.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!